Andante Cantabile for Euphonium and Wind Band

The Euphonium Virtuoso Collection is a new series of euphonium solos arranged by Luc Vertommen especially for Steven Mead and offers exciting study and performance opportunities for every aspiring soloist.

Top quality arrangements available in different versions for soloist and brass band, symphonic wind band or piano accompaniment.

Tchaikovsky’s ‘Andante Cantabile’ is one of the most famous and inspiring romantic movements. It was either the singing of a workman or baker – there are two versions of the story – that introduced Tchaikovsky to the folk melody that he immortalized in his slow movement of his String Quartet nr 1, opus 11, composed in 1871. Clearly he was not put off by the tune’s unromantic words, ‘Vanya sat on the divan and smoked a pipe of tobacco’. An immediate hit, the movement was quickly extracted from the quartet and published in numerous arrangements through which it became one of Tchaikovsky’s most famous short works. It didn’t only inspire Johan De Meij for a fantastic and extreme make-over (see recent brass band test-piece!), Tchaikovsky himself made an arrangement for cello and string orchestra sometime between 1886 and 1888 for cellist Wilhelm Fitzenhagen (1848-1890) who premiered the Rococo Variations in 1877.

solo parts included: BC, TC, BC Bb

SKU: 211100000048
Weight: 1.15 lb

Product Information

Main Category: